Congratulations to our 2018 Scholarship honorees!

April 30, 2018 – Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union (MSGCU) is excited to announce its 2018 Scholarship Honorees. This year, a group of 31 high school students, college students, and educators will receive $2,500 scholarships to further their higher education journey. Founded by a small group of local educators in 1954, education has been an integral part of the fabric of MSGCU since day one.

“As a Credit Union humbly rooted in education and service, it is our honor to promote valuable lifelong learning among aspiring college students and dedicated educators,” said MSGCU President and CEO Peter Gates.

MSGCU received a record number of scholarship applications from more than 80 high schools as well as other academic institutions in Michigan. The caliber of the applicants and their accomplishments was inspiring.

After careful review and consideration of 300 applications, MSGCU is pleased to award scholarships to 25 students and six educators. Scholarship honorees attend 19 local high schools and five in-state colleges. Each recipient will receive a one-time award of $2,500 and all will be honored at a private reception on Monday, June 4. Members of the MSGCU management team and Board of Directors are scheduled to participate in the celebration.

Totaling more than $100,000 in awards for students, educators and first responders, the scholarship program is just one way MSGCU shows its commitment to education. Additionally, MSGCU is proud to provide more than $46,000 in classroom grants for local teachers, donate time and resources to local non-profits making a difference in the community, and provide free educational programs to local schools.

2018 Scholarship Recipients

The Rudolph Heino High School Scholarship was created in honor of Rudolph Heino, a long-time MSGCU Board Member who strongly upheld the “people helping people” philosophy. The scholarship recognizes high school seniors committed to inspiring others through service and leadership.

Olivia AndersonOlivia Anderson
Brighton High School
Gabriella BraunGabriella Braun
Eisenhower High School
Daniel BrejnakDaniel Brejnak
Algonac High School
Keziah EggertKeziah Eggert
Lakeview High School
Quinn FavretQuinn Favret
Troy High School

The Larry Swantek Educational Studies Scholarship was created in honor of Larry Swantek, a retired MSGCU Board Member and an educator of more than 25 years. He embraced his role as an educator and influenced thousands of students both in and out of the classroom. The scholarship recognizes high school seniors and current college students committed to pursuing the field of Education as a career.

Kelli KwiatkowskiKelli Kwiatkowski
Western Michigan University
Olivia MatthewsOlivia Matthews
Wayne State University
Anna PlotkowskiAnna Plotkowski
Chippewa Valley High School
Mackenzie RahnMackenzie Rahn
Anchor Bay High School

The Educational Solutions Scholarship is designed for high school seniors planning to attend a two- or four-year college or university. The scholarship helps offset the cost of earning a degree while celebrating higher education’s ability to change lives for the better.

Haley BeverlinHaley Beverlin
Hazel Park High School
Addison BuryAddison Bury
Eisenhower High School
Abigayle ChaseAbigayle Chase
Stoney Creek High School
Michael CiaravinoMichael Ciaravino
Grosse Pointe North High School
Gia EvansGia Evans
West Bloomfield High School
Matthew HottsMatthew Hotts
Shrine Catholic High School
Austin LowellAustin Lowell
L’Anse Creuse North High School
Megan MuellerMegan Mueller
Royal Oak High School
Amir OwensAmir Owens
West Bloomfield High School
Sage ParisSage Paris
Clarkston High School
Ebony ScottEbony Scott
Southfield High School for Arts and Technology
Corrie SengCorrie Seng
Lamphere High School
Paul SkowronskiPaul Skowronski
Austin Catholic High School
Matthew SkrzyckiMatthew Skrzycki
Troy High School
Madison ThompsonMadison Thompson
Eisenhower High School
Gleo Wade Jr.Gleo Wade Jr.
Clintondale High School
Hannah WrubelHannah Wrubel
Eisenhower High School
Megan ZiembowiczMegan Ziembowicz
Anchor Bay High School

The Educator Advantage Scholarship is designed for educators and administrators to help cover the costs of continuing education while honoring a commitment to advancing educator skills.

Cheryl DroskiCheryl Droski
Baker College
Laura FerrissLaura Ferriss
Michigan State University
Stephanie GobleStephanie Goble
Oakland University
Krysten StaperfenneKrysten Staperfenne
Oakland University

Please visit for more information on the MSGCU scholarship program.